About Beelong

Why Beelong ?

Why Beelong?

With 30% of damage to the environment generated in Switzerland by food*, caterers and players in the food industry (producers, transformers, distributors, etc.) have a crucial role to play.

Whether in terms of CO2 emissions, pollution, impact on climate and biodiversity, waste or even working conditions and food safety, the choices made each day by professionals in relation to food have major consequences. Due to the volumes of meals served each day by restaurants, whether institutional or commercial, the entire branch must assume certain responsibilities in respect to their partners, customers and the environment.

But to buy in a more sustainable way, there must be access to information! Beelong thus wishes to contribute to the development of transparency on the food market by making accessible environmental information on products.

* Source: Office fédéral de l’environnement (OFEV – Swiss federal office for the environment), 2011

History

Created on the campus of the École hôtelière de Lausanne (EHL – Lausanne Hotel Management School), the Beelong indicator attempts to reply to a simple question: how to choose food products that are more environmentally friendly? How to help the professional buy on the basis of criteria other than price, quality or packaging?

Initially supported by EHL between 2012 and 2014 for a pilot stage with 15 restaurants in the region, subsequently consolidated scientifically, the indicator then won the 1st Prize in the HES-SO 2103 Genilem competition for its innovative and applied aspects.

The enthusiastic welcome given to the indicator led to the creation of the company in 2014. Between 2015 and 2016 more than 70 firms were already working with Beelong, thanks notably to its integration into the strategy of the Canton of Vaud for sustainable food, then the interest of the other cantons in French-speaking Switzerland.

It was in 2017, seeing the market’s increasing interest and caterers’ new demands for greater transparency, traceability and sustainability, that Beelong developed its services for food product brands and distributors.

Beelong today works with numerous caterers, brands and distributors throughout Switzerland, all players concerned about the future of our planet and the transparency of the food industry.

We all belong to the same planet

Bees are victims of over-intensive agriculture and are dying around the world. The bee is a powerful symbol of human impact on the environment; an essential insect that our agriculture and food chain depend on (watch Markus Imhoof’s film “More than honey” – See trailer on the right).

The verb “belong” is also apparent in the name as we belong to the same world, the same eco-friendly community. And finally, the world long implies longevity and sustainability, in line with our mission to reduce the impact of food on the environment.

Team

Charlotte de La Baume

Managing Partner

Passionately interested in all aspects of the food industry, I became more closely interested in food products notably during my studies at EHL.

Also aware of the agricultural challenges of tomorrow, I feel that caterers and all players in the food industry have a major role to play in promoting quality, healthy and sustainable food consumption.

After being in contact over several years with the various players and beneficiaries of the food industry, I became particularly interested in the traceability of foodstuffs and the new challenges facing the industry.

Through Beelong, I wish today to better train and inform professionals and consumers on the products that they buy and consume each day, provide them with concrete solutions and thus help chart the future of the industry from the sustainability perspective.

Mathias Faigaux

Managing Partner

Having been exposed to the restaurant industry through my work and family, I am aware of the new challenges facing this industry, in particular, the growing gap between consumers' expectations, professional training, and the increasing pressure on prices and food safety.

After developing my skills in the financing of SMEs at the service notably of entrepreneurs in the catering sector, I am now making available both my personal and professional experience for the development of innovative solutions for catering, from both an economic and sustainable point of view.

Would you like to join our team?

Please send your application to the following address:

info@beelong.ch

Partners

Advisory board

 

The following members have come together in order to bring their scientific, strategic, political and practical support to Beelong.

Rémi Walbaum

Chief Innovation and Valorisation Officer, École hôtelière de Lausanne

Rémi Walbaum is currently the Chief Innovation and Valorisation Officer at EHL, President of the CGN (Compagnie Générale de Navigation sur le lac Léman) & CGN SA since 2012 and President of Innovaud since 2013. In 2004, he joined Venturelab where he coached young entrepreneurs. He also worked as a professor at HEC Lausanne (teaching SME Management) from 2005 to 2014.
Rémi’s entrepreneurial mindset has led him to found a number of start-ups including Axe Communication in 1989, leshop.ch in 1998, Usability Europe in 2000 and Fleur de Pains in 2005. He is also actively involved in numerous start-ups in the region. His experience and entrepreneurial skills are real assets for Beelong.

Christian Hunziker

Campus Development Manager, École hôtelière de Lausanne

Christian’s specialist skills and strong dedication to ecological and sustainable solutions has allowed him to initiate numerous projects such as a photovoltaic plant, a permaculture-inspired vegetable garden, innovative waste management solutions and a sustainable mobility plan at EHL. Christian is also a Municipal in Corcelles-sur-Chavornay, where he has implemented numerous green energy solutions.
Christian’s professional experience and his network within the field of sustainable development are hugely beneficial to Beelong.

Philippe Vollichard

Sustainable Development Manager & Coordinator, Ecole polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne

Philippe Vollichard is a forestry engineer by training and has always been interested in sustainable resource management. The first half of his career was dedicated to promoting the use of wood originating from Swiss forests.
Since 1995, Philippe has been actively managing the campus environment at the Ecole polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) and in 2008, he took on the role as Head of Sustainable Development.
Philippe has opened up his network to Beelong and shares his professional experience to facilitate project implementation.

Benoît Frund

Vice-Rector for Sustainability and Campus, Université de Lausanne

In 1999, Benoît Frund, Geogapher, commenced his career within an SME dedicated to geoinformatics and development support, where he later became director. In early 2004, he returned to UNIL to create and direct the building department. Upon the management’s request, he built a team in charge of putting a sustainability strategy in place for UNIL.
In September 2011, he joined the Management team at UNIL as Vice-Rector. With his team, his goal is to “put sustainability at the forefront of the institution’s concerns” with regards to teaching, research and the campus itself.

Viviane Keller

Head of the Sustainable Development Unit, Canton de Vaud

Since 2004, Viviane Keller, Architect, has directed the Canton de Vaud’s Sustainable Development Unit (UDD). This cantonal department is a center of expertise, resources and support for the region including state services, communes and semi-public institutions.
The UDD is concentrating on disseminating tools such as Boussole21, le Guide des achats professionnels responsables and les Actions pour la durabilité dans les communes where their focus is on the use of local products in institutional catering.

Caroline Coquerel

Entrepreneurship Coach

Caroline Coquerel dedicates her energy and experience to accompanying entrepreneurs and helping them unmask and develop their skills, particularly in business management and business development.
She is an engineer by profession with a Masters in agronomy and technology of spatial information. Caroline has had increasingly demanding responsibilities in different countries in project management, consulting, business development and management.
Caroline shares her expertise in the sales of services and IT products, as well as her experience in environmental projects.

Adrien Hermann

Sustainable Development Coordinator, Fédération des Hôpitaux Vaudois

Adrien Hermann has coordinated projects linked with sustainable development within FHV (Fédération des Hôpitaux Vaudois) member establishments since 2011. He provides strategic and operational support for projects including energy-use strategies, sustainable procurement, industry-specific reference documents for sustainable development, as well as mobility plans.
As Project Manager, Adrien helps FHV members develop sustainably. His vision and objectives are aligned with Beelong’s.

Célia Vaudaux

Quality & Hygiene Manager, Hôpitaux Universitaire de Genève

Célia Vaudaux holds a Masters in food processing, bio-medical and environmental microbiology from the Université de Lyon. At the end of her studies she focused on training and consulting in food safety for private companies and microbiological analyses at the “CLS” laboratory.
In 2010, she joined the Hôpitaux Universitaires de Genève as head of quality and hygiene within the Catering Department. Since 2012, she has been part of the hospital’s sustainable development initiatives as cheffe de projet Terrain « Manger Local ».
Célia is aware of the importance of sustainable foods and has acquired in depth knowledge and understanding of the relevant constraints that hospital’s face, which is greatly beneficial to Beelong.

Jean-Claude Seiler

Head of Service d'accueil de jour de l'enfance, Ville de Lausanne

Since 1998, Jean-Claude Seiler holds the position as Head of day care services for children for the Ville de Lausanne. He also runs Lausanne’s day care network (Réseau-L) including 45 private subsidised organisations. After training as a teacher, he obtained a Postgraduate diploma: “Diplôme exécutif en Action publique” (DEAP) from IDHEAP (Institut des hautes études en administration publique) in 2004. He is a member of the Board and the Advisory Board of the FAJE and sits on various other boards and committees regarding Day Care. Jean-Claude is also President of Ortra Santé Social Vaud.
He is concerned about the quality of food served to children and shares his knowledge in his field and understanding of the changes in consumption habits with us at Beelong.

A propos

Pourquoi Beelong ?

Avec 30% des atteintes à l’environnement qui sont en Suisse générées par l’alimentation*, les restaurateurs et acteurs de l’industrie alimentaire (producteurs, transformateurs, distributeurs, etc.) ont un rôle crucial à jouer.

Que ce soit en termes d’émissions de CO2, de pollution, d’impact sur le climat et la biodiversité, de déchets, ou encore de conditions de travail et sécurité alimentaire, les choix effectués au quotidien par les professionnels en matière de denrées alimentaires ont d’importantes conséquences. Les volumes de repas servis chaque jour par la restauration, qu’elle soit collective ou commerciale, confère à toute la branche certaines responsabilités vis-à-vis de ses partenaires, de sa clientèle et de l’environnement.

Mais pour acheter de manière plus durable, encore faut-il avoir accès à l’information! Beelong souhaite ainsi participer à l’évolution de la transparence sur le marché alimentaire, en rendant accessibles des informations environnementales sur les produits.

* Source : Office fédéral de l’environnement (OFEV), 2011

Historique

Né sur le campus de l’École hôtelière de Lausanne (EHL) en 2008, l’indicateur Beelong tente de répondre à une question simple : comment choisir des produits alimentaires plus respectueux de l’environnement ? Comment aider les professionnels à acheter sur d’autres critères que le prix, la qualité ou l’emballage ?

D’abord soutenu par l’EHL de 2012 à 2014 pour une phase pilote avec 15 restaurants de la région puis consolidé scientifiquement, l’indicateur remporte ensuite le 1er Prix du concours Genilem HES-SO 2013 pour ses aspects innovants et appliqués.

Face à l’enthousiasme suscité par l’indicateur, la société est créée en 2014. Entre 2015 et 2016 plus de 70 établissements travaillent déjà avec Beelong, grâce notamment à son intégration dans la stratégie pour une alimentation durable du canton de Vaud, puis à l’intérêt des autres cantons romands.

C’est en 2017 face à l’intérêt croissant du marché et aux nouvelles demandes des restaurateurs pour plus de transparence, de traçabilité et de durabilité que Beelong développe ses services pour les marques et distributeurs de produits alimentaires.

Beelong travaille aujourd’hui avec de nombreux restaurateurs, marques et distributeurs dans toute la Suisse, autant d’acteurs soucieux du futur de notre planète et de la transparence du système alimentaire.

On appartient tous à la même planète

Victimes d’une agriculture trop intensive, les abeilles meurent petit à petit à travers le monde. L’abeille, « bee », est donc un symbole fort de l’impact de l’homme sur son environnement, un insecte essentiel à notre agriculture et dont dépend notre alimentation (voir le film « More than honey » de Markus Imhoof – bande annonce ci-contre).

« belong to » signifie aussi « appartenir à », appartenir à la même planète, à la même communauté de personnes écoresponsables. Finalement, le terme « long » apporte la notion de longévité et de durabilité dans laquelle s’inscrit notre mission : réduire l’impact de l’alimentation sur l’environnement.

Équipe

Charlotte de La Baume

Associée Gérante

Passionnée par tout ce qui touche à notre système alimentaire, je m’intéresse de plus près à l’alimentation notamment pendant mes études à l’EHL.

Egalement consciente des enjeux agricoles de demain, je pense que la restauration et tous les acteurs de l'industrie alimentaire ont un rôle majeur à jouer pour influencer une consommation de qualité, saine et durable.

C'est en cotoyant depuis quelques années les différents acteurs et bénéficiaires du système alimentaire que je m'intéresse plus particulièrement à la traçabilité des denrées, et aux difficultés de transparence rencontrées par la branche.

Au travers de Beelong je souhaite aujourd'hui mieux former et informer les professionnels et les consommateurs sur les produits qu'ils achètent et consomment au quotidien, leur apporter des solutions concrètes, et contribuer ainsi à dessiner le futur de l’industrie sous l’égide de la durabilité.

charlotte.delabaume@beelong.ch

Mathias Faigaux

Associé Gérant

Au contact de la restauration depuis de nombreuses années au travers de mes diverses expériences professionnelles et familiales, je suis conscient des nouveaux challenges auxquels fait face cette industrie. En particulier, de l'écart qui se creuse entre attentes des consommateurs et formation des professionnels, ou encore de la pression croissante exercée sur les prix et la sécurité alimentaire.

Après avoir développé mes compétences dans le financement des PME au service notamment d’entrepreneurs du secteur de la restauration, je mets aujourd'hui à contribution ces expériences tant personnelles que professionnelles pour développer des solutions innovantes pour la restauration, d’un point de vue tant économique que durable.

mathias.faigaux@beelong.ch

Vous souhaitez rejoindre notre équipe?

Soumettez votre dossier à l’adresse ci-dessous:

info@beelong.ch

Partenaires

Comité de conseil

 

Afin d’apporter leur soutien scientifique, politique, stratégique ou pratique, les membres suivants forment le comité de conseil de Beelong.

Rémi Walbaum

Directeur Campus Développement, École hôtelière de Lausanne

Rémi Walbaum est actuellement Directeur du département Développement du Campus à l’EHL, Président du Groupe CGN & CGN SA depuis 2012 et Président d’Innovaud depuis 2013. En 2004, il rejoint Venturelab où il coache de jeunes entrepreneurs. Il a également été Professeur à HEC Lausanne (Gestion de la PME) de 2005 à 2014.
L’esprit entrepreneurial de Rémi l’a également mené à fonder plusieurs start-up, notamment Axe Communication en 1989, leshop.ch en 1998, Usability Europe en 2000 et Fleur de Pains en 2005. Il s’implique aussi activement dans plusieurs start-up de l’arc lémanique. Son expérience et ses compétences entrepreneuriales sont un réel atout pour Beelong.

Christian Hunziker

Responsable Campus Développement, École hôtelière de Lausanne

Les compétences spécialisées et le fort engagement de Christian pour une approche écologique et durable lui ont permis de mettre en place de nombreux projets comme la centrale photovoltaïque, le jardin potager inspiré de la permaculture, la mise en place d’un concept innovant pour la gestion des déchets et le plan de mobilité de l’EHL. Christian est également Municipal à Corcelles-sur-Chavornay, cadre dans lequel il a réalisé plusieurs projets liés à l’énergie verte.
L’expérience professionnelle de Christian et son réseau en matière de développement durable bénéficient largement à Beelong.

Philippe Vollichard

Responsable et coordinateur du développement durable, Ecole polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne

Philippe Vollichard est ingénieur forestier de formation. Depuis toujours intéressé aux questions de gestion durable des ressources naturelles, la première moitié de sa carrière est entièrement dévolue à la promotion de l’utilisation du bois des forêts suisses.
Philippe est depuis 1995 à l’Ecole polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) ; toujours actif dans la gestion environnementale du campus, il est depuis 2008 Responsable du développement durable.
Philippe partage notamment avec Beelong son réseau professionnel et son expérience dans la mise en œuvre de projets environnementaux.

Benoît Frund

Vice-recteur durabilité & campus, Université de Lausanne

Géographe de formation, Benoît Frund débute sa carrière en 1999 dans une PME active dans la géo-informatique et l’aide au développement, société dont il deviendra directeur. Début 2004, il revient à l’UNIL pour créer, puis diriger le service des bâtiments. Sur demande de la Direction, il forme un groupe de travail chargé de proposer une stratégie de durabilité pour l’UNIL.
En septembre 2011, il rejoint la Direction de l’UNIL en qualité de vice-recteur. Avec son équipe, il a pour mission de «placer la durabilité au cœur des préoccupations de l’institution», soit autant dans l’enseignement, dans la recherche, que sur le campus.
Sa connaissance des enjeux du développement durable, ses conseils en stratégie et gestion de projets ainsi que son réseau sont un réel atout pour Beelong.

Viviane Keller

Cheffe de l'Unité de Développement Durable, Canton de Vaud

Viviane Keller est architecte de formation et dirige aujourd’hui l’Unité de développement durable (UDD) du Canton de Vaud depuis 2004. Ce guichet cantonal de la durabilité est un centre de compétences, de ressources et d’appui pour la société vaudoise dont les services de l’Etat, les communes et les entités parapubliques.
Fortement axé sur la diffusion d’outils dont Boussole21, le Guide des achats professionnels responsables et les Actions pour la durabilité dans les communes, l’UDD travaille notamment sur les produits locaux et de proximité dans la restauration collective.
Partageant des valeurs communes, Viviane apporte à l’équipe son expérience dans le développement et la diffusion d’outils servant un but environnemental, ainsi que sa connaissance du fonctionnement politique de la région.

Caroline Coquerel

Coach en création d’entreprise

Caroline Coquerel met toute son énergie et son expérience pour accompagner les entrepreneurs et entrepreneuses, les aider à révéler et développer leurs compétences, notamment en gestion d’entreprise et développement d’affaires.
Ingénieure de formation supérieure après un master en agronomie et technologies de l’information spatiale, Caroline a exercé plusieurs métiers dans un certain nombre de pays. Elle a ainsi assumé des responsabilités de plus en plus exigeantes : direction de projet, conseil, développement commercial, gestion et direction d’entreprise.
Caroline apporte à Beelong notamment son expertise acquise dans la vente de services et produits informatiques, ainsi que son expérience dans le développement de projets environnementaux.

Adrien Hermann

Coordinateur Développement Durable, Fédération des Hôpitaux Vaudois

Adrien coordonne les projets en lien avec le développement durable au sein des établissements membres de la Fédération des Hôpitaux Vaudois (FHV) depuis 2011. Il leurs fourni un appui stratégique et opérationnel dans la réalisation de projets, comme par exemple la stratégie énergétique, les achats responsables, la réalisation d’un référentiel développement durable spécifique aux établissements de soins ainsi que des plans de mobilité.
Porteur de projets, Adrien renforce la contribution des membres au développement durable. La participation au projet Beelong s’associe dans une vision et des objectifs communs.

Célia Vaudaux

Responsable qualité et hygiène, Hôpitaux Universitaire de Genève

Célia Vaudaux est titulaire d’un master de microbiologie appliqué à l’agroalimentaire, au biomédical et à l’environnement de l’université de Lyon. A la fin de ses études, elle se tourne vers le conseil et la formation en sécurité alimentaire pour des entreprises privées et l’analyse microbiologique au sein du laboratoire « CLS ».
En 2010, elle intègre les Hôpitaux Universitaires de Genève en tant que responsable qualité et hygiène pour le service Restauration. Dès 2012, elle participe au développement durable des Hôpitaux Universitaires de Genève, en étant cheffe de projet Terrain « Manger Local ».
Sa sensibilité à l’alimentation durable et ses connaissances du terrain et des contraintes propres au milieu hospitalier, bénéficient au développement de Beelong.

Jean-Claude Seiler

Chef du service d’accueil de jour de l’enfance, Ville de Lausanne

Jean-Claude Seiler assume depuis 1998 la direction du service d’accueil de jour de l’enfance de la Ville de Lausanne. Il dirige également le Réseau d’accueil de jour de Lausanne (Réseau-L) qui comprend les quelques 45 structures privées subventionnées. Après une formation d’enseignant, il obtient un diplôme Postgrade « Diplôme exécutif en Action publique (DEAP) » à l’Institut des hautes études en administration publique (IDHEAP) en 2004. Membre du bureau et de la chambre consultative de la FAJE, il siège dans différents conseils de fondation ou comité de structures d’accueil de jour, et est également président de l’Ortra Santé Social Vaud depuis 2012.
Sensible aux enjeux écologiques et à la qualité des repas proposés aux plus jeunes, Jean-Claude apporte à Beelong sa connaissance du terrain et des enjeux liés aux changements des habitudes de consommation.