ECO-SCORE® by Beelong

Our mission

Our mission is to promote transparency within the food market and convey the impact of food on the planet, in order to support restaurant owners, consumers and the food industry and forge towards the most sustainable food.

In 2050 there will be nearly 10 billion mouths to feed on the planet. Food is already responsible for a third of environmental damage and the way we pollute and deplete the earth's resources cannot last. Whether it is during the production of food, its transport, its conservation or its transformation, the ecological impact of food is even greater than the one of transport. We must therefore act and consume more sustainably.

But to consume more sustainably, you still need access to product information. And deal with the great lack of transparency in the food market. This is why Beelong evaluates all food products in a simple way and on the same scale from A+ to E-, by bringing together the information available both in the field and from the scientific community.

Paysan
Packshot

Knowing the environmental impact of your food has never been so easy

Tired of having to read complicated food labels? Would you like to be able to compare different brands to see their impact on the environment?

ECO-SCORE® by Beelong will help you instantly know each product’s environmental impact in an effortless manner.

1. Calculate the environmental impact



CO2 emissions



Water footprint



Land use



Refrigeration



Seasonality



Transportation



Distance



Packaging



Composition



Energy intake

ENVIRONMENTAL SCORE: 80 /100 PTS

An environmental score is assigned following the life cycle analysis (LCA). In order to capture the impacts that the LCA does not take into account, a bonus/malus system is used to integrate the below criteria.

2. Valuing biodiversity & animal welfare



Labels



Endangered species



Breeding programs



Fishing methods



Agricultural legislation

3. Valuing good practices of companies & countries



Sustainability policy of the company



Sustainability policy of producing countries

FINAL SCORE: 79 /100 PTS

Click on ECO-SCORE® by Beelong to see the detailed results!

How to read ECO-SCORE® by Beelong?

Ecoscore poisson

To learn more, click on ECO-SCORE® by Beelong for additional information.

A constantly evolving methodology

The ECO-SCORE® by Beelong methodology and the above criteria have undergone several scientific revisions. It is constantly evolving as scientific knowledge and access to field data evolves. Version v.7 is the most current (2022).

ECO-SCORE® by Beelong provides a life cycle assessment (LCA) from field to shelf. It is based on data from the World Food Database, Ecoivent and Agribalyse, as well as on actual data collected on food products (composition, production methods, distances traveled, etc.). 

In addition, it allows the integration of parameters not usually considered in LCAs, such as the valuation of biodiversity and animal welfare.

Questions?

How is food product information collected?

Food product information can be obtained in two ways:

1. Via spontaneous research by Beelong or in the context of studies carried out for restaurants. Information is obtained from product data sheets, brand and retailer websites, or through direct discussions with brands and producers. Information is often missing and the eco-scores are given as an indication. They appear as "not certified" in the Product Database and in the calculator. An orange banner also identifies "non-certified" products on the Beelong data sheets.

2. Via the transmission of all the information directly by the brand. These products appear as "certified" in the Product Database and in the calculator. A green banner also identifies the "certified" products on the Beelong data sheets.

Who evaluates the products?

Beelong is a Lausanne-based company specializing in the analysis, popularization and communication of the environmental impact of food products. The company has developed an eco-score that takes into account the most up-to-date scientific data possible as well as information available on the market. In addition, Beelong organizes and refines information on food products, controls the quality of information provided by brands, and ensures that the most up-to-date data possible is always used.

Is the Beelong eco-score similar to a Life Cycle Assessment (LCA)?

The Beelong Eco-Score methodology is based on a life cycle analysis (LCA) from field to shelf. The data is derived from the most up-to-date versions of the WFLDB, Ecoivent and Agribalyse databases, as well as from actual data collected on food products (composition, production methods, distances traveled, etc.). The eco-score also takes into account parameters not usually considered in LCAs, such as the impact on biodiversity and animal welfare.

The steps counted for the calculation of the carbon footprint, land use, water consumption and pollution are: the agricultural production of each ingredient, the cultivation under heated or unheated greenhouses, the transportation of the ingredients and the finished product (distances traveled, modes of transportation and refrigeration methods), and the packaging of the finished product. The eco-score offers aggregate information about the environmental impact of a food product in order to help the restaurant industry, the food industry and the population to reduce it. And this with pragmatism, using the most current scientific data possible as well as the information available on the market.

Products

L’éco-score Beelong

Notre mission

Notre mission est de promouvoir la transparence du marché alimentaire et de communiquer l’impact de la nourriture sur la planète, afin d’accompagner restaurateurs, consommateurs et industrie alimentaire vers une alimentation la plus durable possible.

En 2050 nous serons près de 10 milliards de bouches à nourrir sur la planète. L’alimentation est déjà responsable d’un tiers des atteintes à l’environnement et la manière dont nous polluons et épuisons les ressources de la terre ne peut pas durer. Que ce soit lors de la production des aliments, de leur transport, de leur conservation ou de leur transformation, l’impact écologique de l’alimentation est même plus important que celui des transports. Nous devons donc agir et consommer plus durablement.

Mais pour consommer plus durablement, encore faut-il avoir accès à l’information sur les produits. Et faire face au grand manque de transparence du marché alimentaire. C’est pourquoi Beelong évalue tous les produits alimentaires de manière simple et sur la même échelle de A+ à E-, en rassemblant les informations disponibles à la fois sur le terrain et auprès de la communauté scientifique.

Paysan
Packshot

Connaître l’impact environnemental de vos aliments n’a jamais été aussi facile

Vous en avez assez de lire des étiquettes alimentaires compliquées? Vous aimeriez pouvoir comparer différentes marques pour connaître leur impact sur l’environnement?

L’éco-score Beelong vous informe simplement sur l’impact environnemental des produits alimentaires afin de vous accompagner pour le réduire. Et cela avec pragmatisme, en utilisant les données scientifiques actuelles et les informations disponibles sur le marché.

1. Calculer l’impact environnemental



Emissions de CO2



Empreinte hydrique



Utilisation du sol



Réfrigération



Saisonnalité



Transport



Distance



Emballage



Composition



Apport énergétique

SCORE ENVIRONNEMENT: 80 /100 PTS

Un score environnement est attribué suite à l’analyse de cycle de vie (ACV). Afin de capter les impacts dont ne tient pas compte l’ACV, un système de bonus/malus permet ensuite d’intégrer les critères ci-dessous.

2. Valoriser la biodiversité et le bien-être animal



Labels



Espèces menacées



Programmes d’élevage



Techniques de pêche



Législations agricoles

3. Valoriser les bonnes pratiques des entreprises et des pays



Politique de durabilité de l’entreprise



Politique de durabilité des pays producteurs

SCORE FINAL: 79 /100 PTS

Cliquez sur l’éco-score pour voir les résultats détaillés!

Comment lire l’éco-score Beelong ?

Pour en savoir plus, cliquez sur l’éco-score pour obtenir des informations complémentaires.

Une méthodologie en constante évolution

La méthodologie de l’éco-score Beelong et les critères ci-dessus ont fait l’objet de plusieurs révisions scientifiques. Celle-ci est en constante évolution, selon l’évolution des connaissances scientifiques et l’évolution de l’accès aux données issues du terrain. La version v.7 est la plus actuelle (2022).

L’éco-score Beelong propose une analyse de cycle de vie (ACV) du champs au rayon. Celle-ci se base sur les données de la World Food Database, Ecoivent et Agribalyse, ainsi que sur les données réelles collectées sur les produits alimentaires (composition, modes de production, distances parcourues, etc.). 

De plus, il permet d’intégrer des paramètres habituellement non considérés dans les ACV, comme la valorisation de la biodiversité et du bien-être animal.

Questions ?

Comment les informations sur les produits alimentaires sont-elles obtenues ?

Les informations sur les produits alimentaires peuvent être obtenues de deux manières :

1. Via les recherches spontanées de Beelong ou dans le cadre des études effectuées pour les restaurants. Les informations sont obtenues via les fiches techniques des produits, via les sites internet des marques et des distributeurs, ou via des échanges directement avec les marques et producteurs. Des informations sont souvent manquantes et les éco-scores sont communiqués à titre indicatif. Ils apparaissent comme « non certifié » dans la Base produit et dans le calculateur. Une bannière orange identifie également les produits « non certifié » sur les fiches techniques Beelong.

2. Via la transmission de l’ensemble des informations directement par la marque. Ces produits apparaissent comme « certifié » dans la Base produit et dans le calculateur. Une bannière verte identifie également les produits « certifié » sur les fiches techniques Beelong.

Qui évalue les produits ?

L’entreprise Beelong basée à Lausanne est spécialisée dans l’analyse, la vulgarisation et la communication de l’impact environnemental des produits alimentaires. L’entreprise a développé un éco-score permettant de tenir compte des données scientifiques les plus actuelles possibles ainsi que des informations disponibles sur le marché. De plus, Beelong organise et affine les informations sur les produits alimentaires, contrôle la qualité des informations transmises par les marques, et s’assure que les données les plus à jour possibles sont toujours utilisées.

L’éco-score Beelong est-il similaire à une analyse de cycle de vie (ACV) ?

La méthodologie de l’éco-score Beelong repose sur une analyse de cycle de vie (ACV) du champ au rayon. Les données sont issues d’une part des versions les plus à jour des bases de données WFLDB, Ecoivent et Agribalyse, et d’autre part de données réelles collectées sur les produits alimentaires (composition, modes de production, distances parcourues, etc.). L’éco-score tient également compte de paramètres habituellement non considérés dans les ACV, comme l’impact sur la biodiversité et le bien-être animal.

Les étapes comptabilisées pour le calcul de l’empreinte carbone, de l’utilisation du sol, de la consommation et de la pollution de l’eau sont : la production agricole de chaque ingrédient, la culture sous serre chauffée ou non, le transport des ingrédients et du produit fini (distances parcourues, modes de transport et modes de réfrigération), et l’emballage du produit fini. L’éco-score propose une information agrégée concernant l’impact environnemental d’un produit alimentaire afin d’accompagner la restauration, l’industrie alimentaire et la population pour le réduire. Et cela avec pragmatisme, en utilisant les données scientifiques les plus actuelles possibles ainsi que les informations disponibles sur le marché.